## IIT Alumni Victoria (IITaV)



Meeting:	Annual General Meeting May 2019	
Date:	Sunday, 19 <sup>th</sup> May 2019, 3:00PM – 5.00PM AEST	
Venue:	Oakleigh Upstairs Meeting Room, 142-144 Drummond street, Oakleigh 3166	
Attendees:	Members: Abaran Deep, Ashok Sharma, Dilip Desai, Divakar Prasad, Gurpreet Kaur, Harvinder Giddey, Nikhil Kumar, Prathap Chandran, Rachana Kaudinya, Raman Singh, Raj Rajakumar, Raja Ravi, Sanjiv Bhasin, Sarbjit Giddey, Shakthivesh, Sridhar Karuppasami, Srinivas Mettu, Surinder Lamba, Tushar Sikroria, Yogendra Vashishtha,  Guests: Mamta Vashishtha, Moloy Chaudhuri (Non Member), Rita Chaudhuri (Non Member), Sangeeta Singh, Yash Gupta.	
Apologies:	Arun Kumar, Bala Kumble, Meenakshi Arora, Ravi Singh and Satish Varma	
Proxies:	No Proxy forms were received.	

Item	Discussion / Action / Decision
Welcome, Apologies and Proxies	IITaV Secretary, Sridhar Karuppasami, welcomed the attendees and presented the Agenda. The list of attendees, apologies and proxies are as noted above.
2. Minutes of 2018 AGM	IITaV Secretary, Sridhar Karuppasami submitted the 2018 AGM Minutes for approval. It was proposed by Raj Rajakumar, and seconded by Nikhil Kumar.
3. President's and Treasurer's Annual Report	IITaV President, Sarbjit Giddey presented his report on the IITaV activities carried out during the year 2018-19.  Summary of the report included:
	<ul> <li>Eight networking events were held during 2018-19. Attendance in social events were very good, while the attendance for the Professional events need to be improved.</li> </ul>
	Membership Status: 53 Financial Members (3 more Members have renewed in May), 5 Associate Members and 3 Corporate Members
	He thanked the contributions of our outgoing IITaV Committee Member, Sanjiv Bhasin. Raj Rajakumar presented Sanjiv with a token gift of appreciation for his tireless services to IITaV.
	Treasurer's report – IITaV has a cash reserve (including liability) of \$12,326.55. The available surplus is \$10,466.55 and the liability of

	Membership is \$1860. Dr. Raj Rajakumar and Dr Rachana Sharma performed an internal audit and found that all accounts are in order.
	President's report was proposed by Surinder Lamba and Seconded by Dilip Desai. Treasurer's report was proposed by Raman Singh and Seconded by Ashok Sharma.
4. Nominations/Elections of 2019-20 Management Committee	Nine nominations were received for the Committee Membership as per the Table and they are formally elected.  President – Sarbjit Giddey  Vice President – Ashok Sharma  Treasurer – Divakar Prasad  Secretary – Sridhar Karuppasami  Committee Member - Bala Kumble  Committee Member - Abaran Deep  Committee Member – Meenakshi Arora  Committee Member – Yogendra Vashishtha  Committee Member – Ravi Rajasekhar  Student representative Shaktivesh will continue to represent students in IITaV Committee.
5. Open discussion on way forward	Several ideas were mooted and discussed.  Mentoring and networking using a database of the committee members  Skills and achievements database to be developed  Level of engagement with members;  Laboratory visits are having a good attendance in our Professional networking events  Providing scholarship for IIT students from India to visit here.  Members to inform the Committee whenever eminent speakers come to Victoria. Speakers\ Publicizing IIT Professional events in a wider scale.  Professional development sessions to students across all Universities.  Having a representative who can coordinate with the IITs and know what's happening and who is visiting us so that we can engage more.

0	Take IIT brand to the industry outside the Universities.
0	Innovative things going on in industries can be an item of discussion in our professional catch-ups- annually
0	Make the students aware of benefits so that the students can prioritise the IITaV sessions.