Management Committee 2015-2016

Management Committee

A brief profile of the current management committee members is provided below.

Dr Raj Rajakumar (President)

Raj completed B.Tech. (Hons) and M.Tech. in Metallurgical Engineering from IIT Bombay and PhD and DIC from the Imperial College of Science & Technology (London University). He has over 40 years’ experience in leadership roles in academia, research, technology development and commercialisation.  He was a member of CSIRO’s Executive Management Council and Director of CSIRO’s Light Metals National Flagship program (2005-11). He has led major national and international projects and commercialisation programmes with companies, universities and governments.

(Mob: 0432 474 385;


Nikhil Kumar (Vice-President)

Nikhil completed his B.Tech. in Civil Engineering from IIT Delhi (1985), MS from Louisiana State University, USA (1987) and an MBA from Melbourne Business School (2002). He has been working for over 25 years in Management & IT Consulting focusing on technology led business transformations and currently works for Tech Mahindra looking after Business Consulting in the Australia and New Zealand region. Nikhil enjoys jogging, started playing golf few years ago (still a beginner) and loves travelling for leisure.

(Mob: 0417103 795;


Dr Rachana Kaudinya (Treasurer)

Rachana completed her M.Sc. in Physics from Meerut University and M.Tech in Energy Studies from IIT Delhi in 1984. In the role of Deputy Director for the Indian Government she was responsible for sanctioning, monitoring and evaluating projects executed by NGOs related to the dissemination of innovative technologies in rural areas. She arrived in Melbourne in 1995 to undertake a PhD on Public Programs and Policies with a focus on analysing their impact on eco development as an approach to sustainability. She held the position of Senior Policy Officer in the Housing and Environmental Branch of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Services (ATSIS), and the Department of Family and Community Services (DFaCS). Rachana is now heavily involved in her family business, Eco Pacific, an Australian company, dedicated to designing and manufacturing energy efficient and environmental friendly heating, cooling & fresh air products.

(Mob: 0431 388 319;


Dr Sridhar Karuppasami (Secretary)

Sridhar completed his M.Tech in Electrical Engineering from IIT Madras and PhD in Telecommunications from the Institute of Telecommunications Research, University of South Australia.  He has over 10 years of academic, industrial and research experience in several disciplines of Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Currently he works as Senior IC Verification Engineer at ASTC, Adelaide. He believes in volunteering and in the past has provided his services to St Johns Australia.

(Mob: 0423 587 163; )


Ravi Singh (Committee Member)

Ravi holds a B. Tech in Electrical Engineering from IIT Roorkee (1983), an M. Tech from IIT Delhi (1988) and also earned his Executive MBA degree from AGSM. Ravi has over 27 years of business development and general management experience in the electrical power and industrial automation industry. He held various senior leadership roles both in India and Australia with a large multinational company and his focus is on Energy Management and sustainability in his current role.

(Mob:0435 657 413;


Dr Dilip Desai (Committee member)

Dilip has BE from Baroda Uni, M.Tech. from IIT Kanpur and PhD from IISc Bangalore, all in chemical engineering. He has worked for IISc, Monash Uni, BHP Steel Whyalla, BHP Research Melbourne, Fuel and Combustion Technology Adelaide,  CSIRO Melbourne and Pinches Industries Melbourne in various roles. Recently he has started his own company Taara Technology P/L inMelbourne. Dilip enjoys R&D, Innovation, chess, walking, travelling, music and reading.

(Mob: 0400 428 714;


Abaran Deep (Committee member)

Abaran completed his B. Tech from IIT Delhi in 1990. He has been working as a Management Consultant in Australia since 1995. He currently shares the responsibility of running a consulting firm which helps large businesses establish collaborative contracts with their suppliers. Abaran enjoys cycling, woodwork and occasionally listening to the rock groups from the IIT days.
(Mob: 0407 319 732; )


Rakesh Saraf (Committee member)

Rakesh completed his M. Tech in Industrial and Management Engineering from IIT Kanpur (1989) and B. Tech in Mechanical Engineering from HBTI Kanpur (1987).  Rakesh started his career as Software professional in Management Services Division of Tata Engineering and Locomotive Company (Telco), Jamshedpur. He moved to Melbourne,Australia with his family in 1995. Since then he has been working in a Senior Software Support role with Oracle Corporation,Australia. Rakesh likes to remain physically active and has keen interest in Hindi film and music. Rakesh is also involved as a volunteer broadcaster with 3zzz community Radio.

(Mob: 0414 853 557; )


Vipin Gaindhar (Committee member)

VipinPicVipin holds a B. Tech in Electrical Engineering from IIT Roorkee (1983) and M. Tech in Computer Science from IIT Roorkee (1986). Vipin has over 25 years of consulting experience in IT industry in designing, modelling and developing data warehousing and Business Intelligence solutions. He has worked across diverse range of industries including banking/finance, utilities and government. Vipin is an active volunteer for Art of Living Foundation and many other community organisations. He is also a Radio Jockey for 3zzz community Radio (Geetanjali Program), a poet and is involved in Indian Theatre and organising music/drama events in Melbourne.

(Mob: 0432 680 572;


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top