

## IIT Alumni Victoria (IITAV)

Meeting:	Annual General Meeting, May 2016	
Date:	7 <sup>th</sup> May 2016, 3.00PM – 5.30PM AEST	
Venue:	Swinburne University of Technology, Hawthorn	
Attendees:	Abaran Deep, Abhay Sinha, Ajay Mehta, Arun Kumar, Ashok Sharma, Bala Kumble, Devindra Weerasooriya, Dilip Desai, Kesari Narayanaswamy, Nikhil Kumar, Pandu Maruti, Rachana Kaudinya, Rahul Tyagi, Raj Rajakumar, Rakesh Saraf, Ravi Rajasekar, Ravi Singh, Sridhar Karuppasami, Sunny Chandra, Surinder Lamba	
Apologies:	Ajay Kapoor, Jai Kaudinya, Kapil Talwar, Kirti Krishnan, Madur Chand, Radhey Shyam Gupta, Rajiv Lal, Raman Singh, Ramprakash Yerramilli, Ravi Tomar, Saby Bhattacharya, Sanjiv Bhasin, Satish Varma, Vipin Gaindhar	
<b>Proxies:</b>	Nil	

Item	Discussion / Action / Decision
1. Welcome, Apologies and Proxies	IITAV President, Dr Raj Rajakumar, welcomed the attendees and presented the Agenda. The list of attendees, apologies and proxies are as noted above.
	Special Thanks to Dr Dilip Desai for organizing an excellent venue for the meeting.
2. Minutes of 2015 AGM	Acceptance of Minutes of AGM 2015, circulated previously with the notice of AGM, was proposed by Abaran Deep, seconded by Sunny Chandra and approved unanimously.
3. President's Annual Report	<ul> <li>Dr Raj Rajakumar presented the President's Annual Report for the year 2015-16, covering</li> <li>Objectives of IITAV that guided the Management Committee;</li> <li>Summary of events held during the period;</li> <li>Confirmation of the current registration of IITAV as an Incorporated Association;</li> <li>Membership growth due to the revised Membership policy;</li> <li>Membership status for 2016 as of 30<sup>th</sup> April 2016. <ul> <li>14 Foundation Members</li> <li>43 Annual Members</li> <li>2 Associate Members</li> <li>High level of attendance in the social events;</li> <li>Relationship Management with our Members</li> </ul> </li> <li>Dr Raj Rajakumar acknowledged the efforts of the Management Committee members, their family and all members for their contribution.</li> <li>Acceptance of the President's report was proposed by Rakesh Saraf, Seconded by Arun Kumar and approved unanimously.</li> </ul>
4. Treasurer's Annual Report	<ul> <li>Dr Rachana Kaudinya presented the Treasurer's report. As per Annual Statement presented, IITAV has a cash reserve (including liability) of \$14,334.24. which is confirmed by the Bank Statement April, 2015. The available surplus is \$8664.24 and the liability of Membership is \$5670.00.</li> <li>Dr Rachana Kaudinya also presented the Revenue and Expenditure</li> </ul>

	<ul> <li>Summary for 2015-16.</li> <li>Acceptance of the Treasurer's report was proposed by Surinder Lamba, Seconded by Nikhil Kumar and approved unanimously.</li> <li>For next year, Prof Arun Kumar suggested that an auditor to approve the Treasurer's report would be a good option. The new Committee will deliberate on it.</li> </ul>
5. Nominations/Elections of 2016-17 Management Committee	<ul> <li>Nominations received for the Management Committee 2016-17 were tabled by the President Dr Raj Rajakumar. There was one nomination for each of the President, Vice President, Treasurer and the Secretary positions and five nominations for the five Committee Member positions. These were unanimously approved as elected by the members. The elected members of the 2016-17 Management Committee are:         <ul> <li>President – Ravi Singh</li> <li>Vice President – Nikhil Kumar</li> <li>Treasurer – Rachana Kaudinya</li> <li>Secretary – Sridhar Karuppasami</li> <li>Committee Member – Abaran Deep</li> <li>Committee Member – Ashok Sharma</li> <li>Committee Member – Bala Kumble</li> <li>Committee Member – Dilip Desai</li> </ul> </li> <li>President of IITAV 2016-17, Ravi Singh, thanked Dr Raj Rajakumar and Rakesh Saraf for their contribution and honoured them with IITAV's Certificate of Appreciation. He also introduced other members of the Management Committee 2016-17. The new members to the Committee, Abhay Sinha, Ashok Sharma and Bala Kumble introduced themselves and talked about the contribution they would like to make to IITAV as a Committee Member.</li> </ul>
6. Open discussion on way forward	<ul> <li>Vice President, Nikhil Kumar, facilitated a brief discussion about the focus areas of 2016-17.</li> <li>Due to time limitations, every attendee was requested to compile a list of areas that IITAV could focus in the upcoming year. Nikhil Kumar will compile those ideas and present during the next Committee Meeting.</li> <li>Abhay Sinha suggested to invite the visiting Indian Government Ministers for giving talks to the alumni and community in general.</li> <li>Dr Raj Rajakumar mentioned about the association of IITAV with the Indian Consul General in the past few years and suggested it could be a great platform to improve on.</li> <li>Both Abhay Sinha and Bala Kumble advocated to expand the objectives to include the betterment of Australian Community.</li> <li>Devindra Weerasooriya detailed the ways with which IITAV could collaborate with Australian Computer Society. It was acknowledged that the incoming Committee will further continue on the IITAV-ACS partnership talks that have been initiated by Dr Raj Rajakumar and Nikhil Kumar during the previous year.</li> <li>President Ravi Singh suggested that another brain storming session would be organized in the near future.</li> </ul>